Knjigu osnovnih grafičkih standarda možete preuzeti ovdje.

Svečanu pjesmu Splitsko-dalmatinske županije možete pogledati ovdje.

Regional Characteristics of Split-Dalmatia County


Split-Dalmatia County is the largest Croatian county with a total area of 14106.40 km2. Of this total area, a surface area of 4523.64 km2 (8% of the Republic of Croatia) is covered by land, and the sea covers a surface area of 9576.40 km2 (30.8% of the sea surface of the Republic of Croatia). Most of the land area consists of the hinterland (59.88%), while the islands make up a lower proportion of the land surface area (19%). 

Geographically it is located in the central part of the Adriatic coast. It stretches from Vrlika in the north to the furthest Croatian island of Palagruza in the south, and from Marina in the west to Vrgorac in the east.

Split-Dalmatia county borders: The county borders on the north with the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina, on the east with Dubrovnik-Neretva county, and it extends south to the border of Croatian territorial waters.

The county is divided into three geographical subunits:

  • hinterland,
  • coastal area
  • islands.

The hinterland, in the continental part of the county, is crisscrossed by mountains that run parallel to the coastline. The area is sparsely populated and economically poor.

The coastal area makes a narrow strip along the coast between the mountain ranges and the sea. This area is highly urbanized and economically developed compared to the hinterland. The islands are sparsely populated, economically more developed than the hinterland; however, due to various circumstances, they have experienced permanent emigration of the population.

The island area of the county is made up of 74 islands and 57 islets and reefs. The size and population stands at 5 islands, which are Ciovo, Solta, Brac, Hvar and Vis; and 6 more inhabited islands: Veli Drvenik Mali Drvenik St. Clement, Scedro Bisevo and St. Andrew



The largest island in the Republic of Croatia is Cres with a surface area of 405.78 km2, and the largest island in Split-Dalmatia county is Brac with a surface area of 395.57 km2.

The largest Croatian lake is Lake Vrana with a surface area of 30.7 km2 and the largest county’s lake is Peruca with a surface area of 13 km2. Sava River is the longest river in Croatia, it is 562 km long, and with a length of 101 km, Cetina River is the longest river in the county.

The highest Croatian peak is the Dinara with a height of 1830 m, and the highest peak in the county is 1762 m.